top of page
liztedesco

Healthy Chocolate Banana Pancakes

I created these delicious pancakes while doing an elimination diet where I couldn't have normal pancakes, or most normal breakfast foods for that matter.

These pancakes are made from 100% natural, whole food ingredients, they are gluten free, dairy free, sugar free, and you can easily omit the egg to make them vegan.



At the end of the post I will link the 'What I Eat in a Day' video in which I show how to make these pancakes as well as several other meals.



My husband thinks they are similar to brownies.

Even William loves them!



This recipe uses buckwheat flour instead of regular flour to make it gluten free. Buckwheat flour is my favorite flour alternative, it is very easy to work with, and it's pretty easy to find now that it's becoming more common. I'm sure you could find it at your usual grocery store, but if not, check any health food store like Whole Foods. If you don't want to mess with it, I'm sure you could substitute regular flour and not even notice the difference.


I add in several ingredients just for nutrient's sake, but if you don't have these, feel free to omit or add in anything else you're trying to sneak into your diet. Same with the egg, if you don't want to add the egg you could opt for making a chia egg, or omit it completely. It makes the pancakes slightly more fluffy, but I've tried it without and it's fine.

 

Healthy Chocolate Banana Pancakes


1 ripe mashed banana

2/3 cup buckwheat flour

2 tbsp cacao powder (or substitute cocoa powder)

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tbsp ground flax seed (optional)

1/2 tsp spirulina (optional)

2 tsp vanilla

1/2 cup milk of choice

1 egg


Mash the banana (be sure to choose a very ripe one, this will make the sweetest pancakes).

Add in the dry ingredients, and then add in the wet ingredients. These pancakes are thick, you can add in extra milk if you prefer them thinner.

Cook them on a skillet, flipping after a few minutes. I always squish them with my flipper so they cook faster.

You can eat them with real organic maple syrup, melted peanut butter and bananas, or berries thawed from frozen with the juice.


Enjoy!




15 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page