top of page
liztedesco

Proverbs 31 Study: vs 16

Hello! Welcome back to another segment of our Proverbs 31 Study!

You’ll have to forgive me if this is scattered and quick, cuz I just took some baked oatmeal out of the oven, and I’m waiting for it to cool before trying some, and it smells SO GOOD I can’t concentrate. Haha. Plus I was watching a movie while doing stuff around the house when Will started falling asleep in his bouncer, so I put him down for a nap and stopped everything I was doing to write this post cuz it’s easiest to do it during a nap! So here we are!

By the way, do any of you have a Nespresso machine? I’ve been looking at them online cuz a few other bloggers I follow have been talking about them and I reeeally want one now. Cuz it’s fancy coffee, homemade… why wouldn’t I want one?

Anyway today we’re talking about vs 16.

This verse reminds me a lot of several other verses we’ve taken a look at so far, so hopefully it doesn’t start seeming like every post is the same!

As women so often we purchase things hastily. From left and right there are constantly ads aimed at us of wonderful things to buy.

She considered the field before buying it. Was it good soil? Was it worth the price? Would it be an asset? Would they regret the purchase? (I don’t know what you consider when buying a field lol but I imagine it went something like this!!)

She decided it was a good idea and she invested in a field, then what? She planted a vineyard.

You don’t plant a whole vineyard for your own family.

She was an entrepreneur.

It doesn’t say, but I imagine she started a little business to help support her family. She sold the fruit, or maybe made something with it then sold it. But she helped provide an income for her family!

She considered it and didn’t jump hastily. She worked hard with her hands and either planted a vineyard, or was able to pay someone with money she’d earned to plant it for her.

As an entrepreneur myself, I can really implement this verse in my life. I have considered opportunities before, and made good decisions, and I have jumped hastily before and those decisions often don’t turn out so good.

This is a good reminder to invest in your future. Whether it’s by starting a business, investing, or whatever you see fit, it’s only wise. To work hard at whatever you do, and be wise about your decisions. I’ll bet that field wasn’t cheap and you wouldn’t want to mess up on a big purchase like that, and I bet planting a vineyard wasn’t easy, it took some hard work.

So many good things to think about! I’m learning so much by simply studying! I’ve always loved this passage, and had pondered it before, but i had never noticed this before!

Anyway! Thanks for joining me on another Tuesday Proverbs 31 study! I’m going to go enjoy some warm(ish) yummy baked oatmeal since the baby is still sleeping!

Liz

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page